the magic of waterdrops

People seem to either love or hate pictures of waterdrops – close-ups of waterdrops hanging from eyelashes, sitting on flowers, sprinkled with glitter…


I always thought ack, how hard can it be, it’s just silly waterdrops! All you need is a macro lens, and a flower and water, what’s the big deal…

After I got my macro lens a few years back, I started experimenting, and trying to get my own clichéd waterdrop shots. I tell you what, it’s not as easy as it may look! The first attempts were pretty dreadful, and it took me a while to get my head around a setup that works for me. Now, it’s no big deal anymore. But I look at these ‘oh it’s just a waterdrop, bleh’- shots differently, because I know it’s not as easy as it looks.

~ by Simone on April 16, 2010.

4 Responses to “the magic of waterdrops”

  1. I agree – it is not very easy to do – I don’t have a macro lens, but I have managed some neat shots with my 55-200 (no where near what you have) but I know how difficult it is!! These are lovely and the colors are amazing!!! GREAT JOB!!!!

    • It’s funny, isn’t it? I was really surprised by how tricky it is! Thank you for you lovely comment, I’m glad you like these!

  2. I really like these! I didn’t know that a macro lens would create bokeh – I assume the drops of water help reflect the light, huh?

    • thanks! Yeah, I think all lenses create Bokeh, at least to some extent, if you shoot with a small enough f-stop. The drops reflect the light, and because it’s not in focus, it turns into bokeh… or something ;)

Leave a Reply

 
