an interlude on film

I’m really starting to get into film photography. The first camera I owned (as a teenager…) was a little canon compact, and after that gave up the ghost, I bought a Nikon F65, which I had for a number of years. I liked taking photographs, but wasn’t really into photography yet. When that slowly changed,and I ended up experimenting more and more, and paying for it, of course, when getting films developed and having only a few good shots, I decided to go digital and bought a Nikon D50 in 2006. What a great camera to learn the ropes on. It was only with the D50 that I slowly moved away from the P setting, and was curious enough to learn how it all worked. Last year, I upgraded my camera body to a Nikon D300, and I do love that camera.
Film had totally left my world, my F65 now belongs to my dad, and that was that.

Until a few months ago, when I got my Granddad’s old film camera.
A Porst CX 4 – and it has re-awakened my curiosity in shooting film, and I’m loving every second of it. The anticipation when you go to pick up your freshly developed film (and the disappointment when you discover that there’s absolutely nothing on it, because you didn’t put the film in properly, and it didn’t get transported forward, graah! Oh well, mistakes happen!)

I bought a Helios 44-2 lens for that camera (and it fits without an adapter, M42 screw mount all the way!), and oh, do I love it. So without further waffling, here’s some of that lovely swirly bokeh …

~ by Simone on May 9, 2010.

2 Responses to “an interlude on film”

  1. Love those blurry backgrounds – great shots!!

Leave a Reply

 
