A Day of Rainbows

I headed out to Connemara today, something I haven’t done in quite some time, and the fact that it was raining when I left the house didn’t deter me, I needed to get out and do something. I figured a day of driving around wonderful landscapes in the rain would beat a day of hanging around at home doing nothing!
And boy, was the effort worth it.

Today was a day of Rainbows.
The constant play of rain showers and sunshine meant an abundance of rainbows, and I am really appreciating my wide-angle lens in situations like that!


Rainbow no. 1, between Oughterard and Maam Cross


Rainbow no. 2, between Maam Cross and Maum

Two perfect full-span rainbows. How lucky was that!

It gets better.
Here’s rainbow no. 3 – illuminating the sky above Lough Corrib, near Cornamona

WOW, is all I can say… What a fantastic way to spend a Saturday.

~ by Simone on November 6, 2010.

14 Responses to “A Day of Rainbows”

  1. gorgeous captures

  2. Totally jealous! I am lucky if I see one rainbow a year, let alone the bounty you enjoyed. Thanks for bringing long that lens. Beautiful captures.

  3. Well I assume that with that many opportunities you must have found at least one of those proverbial pots… If not, I guess the stunning shots are at least compensation… :)

  4. You were so lucky to experience such beautiful rainbows, and we were lucky that you captured them so fine :-)

  5. The quality always wins out over the quantity Simone. Beautiful photos of the kind that just make me want to be there. All three are great, but my favourite is shot 2 with all those autumnal colours.

    So glad to finally get back on your blog and see what you’ve been up to for the last few weeks.

  6. Wow is right!

  7. Looks like you had a productive day, very nice shots.

Leave a Reply

 
