One shot, two versions

At the beginning of October (on my birthday, actually), myself and my better half took a trip down to Dublin Zoo. I hadn’t been there yet (Dublin’s on the other side of the country, and despite the fact that it’s only 200 km, I’d never made it over! The zoo, that is. I’d been do Dublin alright!), and I’ve always been a big fan of zoos. I have very fond memories of the Wilhelma zoo in Stuttgart, Germany – no trip to see my grandmother was complete without going to the Zoo!

So, Dublin Zoo – whilst not particularly big, it’s a really nice zoo. They’ve done a huge amount of work over the last few years, apparently, and it shows – the enclosures are nice and roomy, and if the animals want to get out of the human’s sight, they can.

Of course I took my camera, armed with ‘the beast’, the 300 mm Nikkor lens. We had fun. I’ve already showed you the tiger and wolf (and the herons), so here’s somebody else – and this is probably my favourite photograph I took on that outing –

the Chameleon!

And because he’s such a handsome little fellow (not to mention that content smile on his face) – I converted this shot to black and white.

Which one do you prefer? I can’t decide!

~ by Simone on December 12, 2010.

2 Responses to “One shot, two versions”

  1. I prefer the color. Usually I think a b/w has more detail, but in this photo I think the color rendering makes the most compelling image.

Leave a Reply

 
