here’s to a new year

December 31st, last day of 2010 – it’s been a good year, all in all.
Not good for flights (three flight journeys booked, neither worked out – volcanic ash, health scares and snow made their mark on travel this year), but good for holidays, nonetheless – Scotland! Sardinia! Up for next year: France! (going by ferry, hah!) Germany! Possibly Scotland again, because I love the place!
Good for photography – two new lenses, the Nikon 300 mm f/4, and the Nikon 10-24 mm UWA lens, both of which I absolutely adore. I’ll be adding more to my list of equipment next year, I’m sizing up the Nikon 24-70 mm f/2.8, and also a second body as backup… D300s? D700, even? (although the latter would lead to issues with lens compatibility, bah!)

Plans for next year…
yeah – travelling! Spending time with my feathered friends! And human friends, of course! Capturing moments, places, people!
And, what makes 2011 really special for me – planning a wedding. MY wedding, eeeks!
J. and I got engaged at the beginning of the month, and now have lots of things to do – we have until November, though, so that’ll be enough time :)
YAY!! I couldn’t be happier.

I wish you all a very happy new year, all the best for 2011!!

P.S. – the ring

~ by Simone on December 31, 2010.

6 Responses to “here’s to a new year”

  1. Congrats on the engagement! I’m available for weddings. Just fly me over and I’m yours.

    Oh, you best get the gear before the wedding. Yeah, the D700 will not play well with the DX UWA. I suggest the D300(s). The crop factor will help with the birds.

    • Thanks Scott! Yeah looking for a photographer is going to be fun, and expensive :-s
      That’s what I was thinking, D300s would be the way to go. I’ve got the D300 at the moment, so the ‘sister’ it may well be. Pity about the whole crop/full frame issues, eh…

      • Well, it can be. When I knew I was going to go full frame with the D700, I shifted into getting lenses for it. Full frame lenses work on DX so that was easy. Expensive though. It’s all in what you want to photograph.

      • Decisions, decisions. And the issue with cost, too … eeeh…

  2. Congratulations to you and J.! May your marriage be filled with so much joy and happiness as is this anouncement. And a happy New Year to you, of course.

Leave a Reply

 
