I am a kit monster.

New year, new gear…
*sighs*
I have been described as a bit of a kit monster. So what’s going to be new for this year?

I’ve already mentioned that I want/need a second camera body. As backup, and to avoid swapping lenses all the time.
Considering my choice of available lenses, it looks like going full-frame wouldn’t make much sense at this stage, my wide-angle lens is DX, and won’t get along with, say, the D700. What I don’t want is one camera that works with certain lenses only, and not with others. So it looks like the D300s, ‘sister’ to my D300, might just be the new member of the family. I know how to work my D300, so there won’t be much learning involved, I don’t think. Which is both good (easy option) and a little frustrating, because I half-feel that I’m not progressing. But it’s not the camera, right? It’s the person behind it. And, looking at my images from last year, I definitely have further improved my photography.

Note to self: I must really go through the shots of last year, and post up the highlights here, as a sort of review of 2010, and inspiration for 2011!

Then: lens!
I’m eyeing up the 24-70mm f2.8 Nikon lens, for general runaround use and portraits.
My previous everyday lens was my Sigma 18-200 mm, but to be honest, I have really fallen out of love with that lens. For several reasons: I’ve been using that lens for the vast majority of my shooting for the last four years. Day in, day out. I’m a little sick of it now.
I also had issues with it last year, had to send it to get it fixed (the autofocus gears had worn down, I think, something like that)… that didn’t help with the falling-out-of-love process.
Lastly, since aquiring Nikon lenses, the image quality of the Sigma just didn’t do it for me anymore. Even my OH, who accompanies me on most my outings, but has little interest in photography otherwise, noticed the difference. So I’m all for Nikon lenses now, because they simply are, in my view, better quality. Quality you pay for, but worth it.

Any feedback on those options? (other than: what does your bank account say to that, don’t even ask!)

~ by Simone on January 6, 2011.

3 Responses to “I am a kit monster.”

  1. Hope this helps. Rent it first. :) Make sure you’ll have time for the lens during the rental time. Shoot the lens like you’d use it if you owned it. See if the weight, focal length and characteristics suits you. If it does, great. If it doesn’t then try a different one.

  2. Did you get the 24-70 f2.8 lens? I was debating (with myself) between an 17-55 f2.8 or 24-70 f2.8. I went with the 17-55 in the end as most people with the same choice did and also think it’d be more useful for indoors.
    next I want a fast prime, maybe even (50mm) f1.2 if I can afford it. I sold my 50mm f1.8 to fund the above mentioned lens but it’s just not the same for bokeh. Both lenses would be ideal, one for walk abouts and one for portraits, bokeh etc.
    Pa.

    • Nah, didn’t get the lens yet, but I will – either the 24-70, or indeed the 17-55 mm… f2.8 it’ll be, in any case. I really don’t know which one to go for!! Eeeks!
      The 24-70 leaves the door open for upgrading to a full-frame camera, but do I even want that? gear wars, eh.

Leave a Reply

 
