Developing 120 film

So this evening I finally got around to doing something I’ve been wanting to do for a long time: shoot a roll of black and white medium-format film on my little old Voigtländer, and develop it myself. I got myself all the developing kit a few weeks back, and some black and white Ilford film too.

I went across the road to the old abbey to shoot my film, and then got onto developing, going about it as I do with most things – eyeballing it, mostly. Thermometer? nope. Exact timer? nope, kitchen timer will do the trick… Well, I know that this approach could easily have backfired on me, but luckily it didn’t. I had a brief  ‘????’ moment when I looked at my roll of film and it was all milky white instead of transparent. Had forgotten the fixer, oops! Once I’d that rectified, though, I had a beautiful roll of 120 film, developed! Brilliant!

Overall, I’m happy with the results – one shot has an unexplained light leak on it, two are totally out of focus, but the remaining five are beautiful.

Here’s one –

SF2_7376a

Isn’t that cool? A camera from the 1940s, brought back to life…

This is also my contribution to Scott’s assignment for this month: black and white photography!

~ by Simone on March 15, 2013.

5 Responses to “Developing 120 film”

  1. What an experience, Simone ! Fantastic. You can be happy with the result, the photo of this old Abbey (where ?) is just great. Thanks. Scott’s recent assignment makes me feel like doing more pictures in B/W with my older camera.

  2. […] a project where she photographed using Black and White film, developed it herself and created a beautiful print of an old abbey.   […]

Leave a Reply

 
