Photography: passion

It’s time for another assignment from Scott – Your Photography Passion

I didn’t need long to think about something for this assignment – it’s got to be the birds for me!

Almost four years ago, I started volunteering at a bird of prey centre nearby. I’ve learned so much about these amazing creatures, how to handle them, got to know their funky personalities, and I’ve made some amazing friends along the way.
Shooting the birds almost from the get-go was one heck of a learning curve, but one that I’ve thoroughly enjoyed. I’ve come a long way, and I’ve still got some ways to go of course. Shooting falcons, owls and eagles in full flight certainly is a challenge, and I can’t tell you how many blurry shots of Bud or Milly I have (many…) – but when you do get it right, there’s nothing quite like it.

 

DSC_9680

Saker falcon ‘Milly’

 

DSC_7445Juvenile burrowing owl

DSC_9845

Bateleur Eagle ‘Batty’ (and some of his many fans)

~ by Simone on May 19, 2013.

9 Responses to “Photography: passion”

  1. What splendid shots Simone! The owl is especially wonderful. He looks as focused on you as you were on him.

  2. […] with the bird of prey centre which first brought me to her blog. It has been a joy to watch her improvement in capturing the magnificent creatures she shares on her blog. You must click through to see the owl in flight photo.  She even included […]

  3. That is one incredible owl in flight photo!

  4. These are fabulous Simone! I especially love the owl – amazing. I’m only beginning my new passion for photgraphing birds – how wonderful for you to have these opportunities.

  5. Fantastic images! The “keepers” are definitely worth the effort. Great job.

  6. The birds are beautiful, they are one of my favorites of God’s creatures!! You have an incredible eye…I am very envious too!!

  7. As always I’m envious… ;)

Leave a Reply

 
